DISQUS

Mashable - The Social Media Guide: WARNING: Juste is Latest Twitter Scam to Avoid

  • Crisatunity · 6 months ago
    I tried the links in your example and they didn't work. Please advise.
  • WaltRibeiro · 6 months ago
    They have scams on the internet?
  • Amit · 6 months ago
    This is really crazy and scary ! thanks a lot for the update. I am sure that Twitter is going to fix it up soon.
  • My Videoke · 6 months ago
    These Twitter and Facebook scams must be stopped, they are hurting small-time developers like me to get their safe and "useful" applications to get noticed. Check out TwitList http://www.twitlist.com - a combination of Twitter and Craigslist. Thanks!
  • Ninjeff · 6 months ago
    Too late for me. I just finished watching that video =(
  • Gryffyn · 6 months ago
    You watched the video? If you get a phone call in 7 days, don't answer it.
  • Jim Dempsey · 6 months ago
    Anything that comes from .ru domains is either spam, or a scam. In all my years on the Internet, I've never received a legit email or seen a legit Web site with a .ru domain. Just block the entire domain in your email and never click a .ru link.
  • Sharon Rosa · 6 months ago
    It's not that there's no legitimate .ru sites. Google has Google.ru, there's Yandex.ru, Mail.ru, Gazeta.ru - but all these sites target Russian speakers. Owners of a *legitimate* site going to the trouble of translating things for English speakers would spend the ten bucks on a .com domain. Same can probably said for .es or .tl, with .ru just being the most common right now. If you don't speak the language, no point in clicking even if it's not a scam, best to just ignore.
  • the web · 6 months ago
    I thought than twitter was safe
  • Gryffyn · 6 months ago
    Twitter's as safe as anything else online. But where there's a will (and money to be made) there's a way to abuse just about anything.

    With every exploit and scam, countermeasures are created. But the weakest link is always the human element. As long as people are willing to click on just about anything.. and as long as security issues exist in computers, there will always be stuff like this spreading. It happens on a lot of sites, not just Twitter.
  • david · 6 months ago
    Strange.
  • miracLes · 4 months ago
    Thank you very much for this information.
    Good post thanks for sharing.

    fx15 lida yılan yağı karınca yumurtası xacc
  • Isaac Alonzo · 6 months ago
    the fact that there is three comments coming from this scam posted in this article just cracks me up! i never click on anything without asking first :)
  • erica · 6 months ago
    Unfortunately I was affected by this -- strange because I hadn't logged into Twitter for a day but someone notified me. Now my account is suspended along w/ the @MuseumModernArt and countless others I'm sure -- THE most frustrating part of this! @ericaholt
  • sharon fisher · 6 months ago
    You don't have to have clicked on it for your account to start sending out this message. My account has been hit and I hadn't clicked on it.

    Now waiting for Twitter to un-suspend my account...
  • swag · 6 months ago
    LOL. Man, the Twits need a thinning of the herd.
  • dremoran · 6 months ago
    I got fooled by this as well. Computer now has incessant pop-up telling me my computer is infected and I should buy their antivirus software. How do I fix this? Any suggestions regarding malware scanning?
  • ROCKY F.W. · 6 months ago
    SOMEONE KICK THESE PEOPLE ASSES PLEASE OR SEND THEM TO ME!!
    I WILL FEED THEM TO MY PET SHARKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MY SHARKS LIKE HAIR LEGS!! ONE BITE & YOUR LEG IS GONE UP TO YOUR HIP! THEY ARE MEAN, I MUST BE VERY CAREFUL AROUND THEM TOO!!

    ROCKY4432901 THE ADMIRAL PIRATE!
  • Max · 6 months ago
    How can the use your twitter credentials without your knowledge? Just had a look at their site, they iFrame this page: juste.ru/tds/r.php .

    Btw: Twitter has a nice comment at their site:
    "No matter how good that “best video” looks, don’t go to any juste.ru domains"
  • Tijn · 6 months ago
    In what way this could be called a scam? I'd prefer to call this whole thing a hoax until it's clear what the website really does.
  • Foxy · 6 months ago
    Thanks for the warning, I just noticed this post as a Hot URL on alexa.com, lets hope the word gets out fast enough.
  • Nick · 6 months ago
    Best Video: www.juste.... nah, just kidding.
  • webovator · 6 months ago
    LOL I thought of the same thing... Actually the picture above, I thought were comments, till I had a closer look. Glad some people have a sense of humor.
  • DarrenScottMonroe · 6 months ago
    Amazing! Tweeting now where do these guys get the time for this??
  • Bruce · 6 months ago
    Thanks Pete for the warning, I hope this will save others alot og greef!
  • Rose · 6 months ago
    Ahhh, I want to click on it, just to see what it does! I'm temped. But I can't :( Wait that's a good thing so ---->> ~:D

    BTW what does it do? Can someone please tell me this imformation. I'm to lazy to read a long Paragraph! (But I can write one weeeeeeeerrrrrriiiiiiiiidddddd!)
  • Betty Thompson · 6 months ago
    watch out! more scams out there!
  • Nicole · 6 months ago
    Thanks for the heads up!! Why do people try ruin good things. Twitter is one of the only marketing tools I have due to serious budget cuts, just don't understand why people feel the need destroy things.
  • Rafael Calsaverini · 6 months ago
    It shouldn't be hard to find out what user originated the first tweet.
  • matt · 6 months ago
    they must be using OAuth.... right?
  • Baylink · 6 months ago
    Here's the Google information link I could not twitter because it is too long, that explains about the malware behind juste.ru.

    I didn't get bitten because I'm using AdBlock Pro... or Linux; I'm not sure which.

    http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrow...

    Read that carefully, it really is a google.com domain link, and thus safe.

    Indeed, when I pasted in the .php link that was in the iframe under the video, I was taken to it automatically. Whether that's ABP or just Firefox 3, I couldn't tell you.
  • Baylink · 6 months ago
    Here's the Google information link I could not twitter because it is too long, that explains about the malware behind juste.ru.

    I didn't get bitten because I'm using AdBlock Pro... or Linux; I'm not sure which.

    http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrow...

    Read that carefully, it really is a google.com domain link, and thus safe.

    Indeed, when I pasted in the .php link that was in the iframe under the video, I was taken to it automatically. Whether that's ABP or just Firefox 3, I couldn't tell you.
  • Vanes · 6 months ago
    I am a twitter junkie and I just noticed that site when I viewed the trend topic "latest twitter scam"; I didn't get the link to that site. Few days ago (I think it was 2 days ago) someone was discussing about tweeptracker, he said (he's one of the founders of it) i could see who are following me and who aren't. Although the site might not be a scam site I'm already scared because of twittercut! I don't know whether tweeptracker is a scam or not but now I don't/can't trust strangers who give me strange link on twitter!!! Lately I got few people who promoted their sites and told me that I could gain followers, and bla bla bla, just like twittercut!

    Now someone pls tell me, is tweeptracker a scam site or not?
  • Vanes · 6 months ago
    Not that i care logging in/granting permission to tweeptracker to check who followed me and who don't, as I got more followers and followed less people on twitter, but if it is a scam site, i'd really have 0% trust to strangers who gave me strange links (or just a link).
  • Craig Kerstiens · 6 months ago
    Tweeptracker is quite safe. They've open sourced most of their code, as well as used oauth, so you never have to enter your password. It's simply a contact management tool, though a quite useful one.
  • Tony Beach · 6 months ago
    Thanks for the heads up on this....
    Tony
    http://www.mysocialurl.com/r/tonybeach/home.html
  • Simone Rubin · 5 months ago
    My twitter account is suspended and this can be the reason since i don´t do suspect action as thy claim.
    Shouldn´t they advice me instead of posting a note that i´m suspect or I´m doing ilegal things and don´t answering my e-mails when I´m asking wth happened because I never did anything wrong?
    What can I do to know what happen?
    They say i need to whait 30 days to have an answer. is absurd.
  • StopScam · 5 months ago
    Follow me to get this and other info about scams and cons! We can stop it. At least to some degree. :)
  • Don Toivola · 4 months ago
    It's an ongoing battle with the spammers. They will always find a way to expose a hole and get their spam out.
  • surfman · 3 months ago
    I agree 1000% Twitter is a MAJOR SCAM!!! They banned and suspended me totally because i'm sending their Twitter folowe.rs, another Twitter scam, my web site while these F'en bastard hypocrates advertise and send messages to have everybody follow each other!!! What a crop of BULLSHIT!!! Mass social media advertising GREEDY money hungry F'eN PIGS!!!