DISQUS

Mashable - The Social Media Guide: 2007/09/02/quechup/

  • Chris Hambly · 2 years ago
  • miracLes · 4 months ago
    Thank you very much for this information.
    Good post thanks for sharing.

    fx15 lida yılan yağı karınca yumurtası xacc
  • Guest · 2 years ago
    Am I the only who finds irony that right below this post about Quechup, the advertisement is for Userplane, which has a business relationship with Quechup's corporate investor iDate. I suppose no one cares...
  • Pete · 2 years ago
    The ads are dynamic - I can't currently see that ad. And based on what you just said, the relationship isn't exactly a direct one - it would be more ironic if there was an ad for Quechup right under the post.
  • Lucky · 2 years ago
    The same thing happened to me when I signed up for StumbleUpon. I was mortified.
  • Arian Ardie · 2 years ago
    Quechup.com is owned by Idate Corp.

    Rather than resorting to a witchhunt perhaps it is best to go to the source to get the answers?

    According to their website, www.idatecorp.com, their CEO is Mark Finch and can be contacted at mark@idatecorp.com. Glen Finch is the Vice President and can be contacted at glen@idatecorp.com.

    The site also has other useful information including their advisors which lists addresses of legal counsel, accountants and others in both the US where they are incorporated under Idate Corp. and the UK where they are known as Idate Ltd.

    I am sure that as a socially responsible company they are going to be interested in hearing everyone's views about the quality of their service.

    Good luck!
  • Joeri Van Holder · 2 years ago
    seems like their webadmin tried to defend himself -> http://art2blog.wordpress.com/2007/08/02/attent...
  • ScottAllen · 2 years ago
    The really stupid part about this is that several other sites have done this in the past, and every time it has pissed off users and created a PR fiasco. Amazing that they wouldn't learn from the mistakes of several others.
  • lord2800 · 2 years ago
    I can't believe that people are trusting enough with their email passwords that they just give it away to any old social networking website!
  • Russell · 2 years ago
    This sounds like the same thing upscoop is doing. They spam your entire mailing list when you login to their site.
  • Gary Valan · 2 years ago
    Hi Pete

    Here's my note these morons sent via their internal mail system. Thanks to Arian, commenter above, I'll harass the bottom feeder owners/managers of this spam site, sorry in advance for a long note:

    "Guys

    I was invited by a blogging acquaintance, Hugh MacLeod to join your site.

    Sadly I did without doing proper due diligence and the iDate owners, marketing geniuses and your software designers, a bunch of bottom feeders-let me be polite and not express my feelings, have serious screwed me over either intentionally or inadvertently. First of all I assumed it was some sort of a social networking site and Quechup turned out to be another spam engine. The fact that I was asked a bunch of personal details should have set off alarm bells but having worked non-stop for 18+ hours I signed on.

    I signed up as a heterosexual and most heteros typically would like to meet a WOMAN, unless you play for both teams, which I don't. So why the heck would you all send it to my entire freaking gmail email list where I have all my professional/business colleagues. And you did not seek my permission either.

    This is absolutely unacceptable and if you do not remove my name from your membership rolls and DELETE ALL MY contacts I will inform (whether or not they pay any attention to my email) all the major web 2.0 software review sites including Techcrunch, Gigaom and other even more nastier review sites - its your call. I will do this by
    Friday Sept 7th unless you do as I ask and send me mail to confirm that you have deleted my name and my gmail contacts from your database.

    Gary Valan"
  • Sue · 2 years ago
    Write www.idatecorp.com to complain. CEO Mark Finch at mark@idatecorp.com. Vice President Glen Finch at glen@idatecorp.com.
  • jimbo · 2 years ago
    Those guys are the ones who came up with this scheme, I'm sure.

    The better thing is to checkout the "investors" at iDate and hassle the hell out of them, and explain why their money just went down the tubes. Unless, of course, the whole ruse was to get as many names as possible to sell to mailing lists before the clampdown.

    In that case, it's time to go Finch hunting.
  • ggg · 2 years ago
    ">alert(1);
  • P · 2 years ago
    alert('hi')
  • Ravi2"> · 2 years ago
    hello world.. ravi
  • rosejenny_700 · 1 year ago
    hi am 31 years old and i need a man who can care ands love me pls if u will like to know more about me contat me on rosejenny_700@yahoo.com
  • anarsist · 2 years ago
    looks nice.
  • sam · 2 years ago
    Thanks
  • upload · 2 years ago
  • Meteko · 2 years ago
    Is this the only social network that are using spam to get more traffic? Facebook does that?

    Regards
    Meteko
    http://www.nhse.org
  • Logo designer · 1 year ago
    I had a bunch of invite e-mails this autumn from people whom I could never suspect to invite me to such network.
    So, now the mystery is solved.
    I wonder did they thought about consequences and community reaction to this dirty trick?
  • Meteko · 1 year ago
    I got few site http://www.bahamut.net and http://www.web2grid.com also got spam, I wonder what they gain from spamming my sites.
  • M7mmad · 1 year ago
  • Güzel Sözler · 1 year ago
    thank you
  • ali-qatar · 1 year ago
  • indir · 1 year ago
    Wow. It’s very fine
    http://www.dahili.org
  • fikrifiil · 1 year ago
    Thanks
  • scheer · 1 year ago
  • ziyad · 1 year ago
    thanks

    www.l3b.cc
  • John · 1 year ago
    had a bunch of invite e-mails this autumn from people whom I could never suspect to invite me to such network.
    So, now the mystery is solved.
    I wonder did they thought about consequences and community reaction to this dirty trick? chuck.mcneil@nuance.com
    Britain817@comcast.net
  • online shopping · 1 year ago
    I do think it's a little dumb that people willingly give their e-mail password out to social networks; but besides that, the truth is that this is pretty disgusting. The poster who spoke of all his business associates being mailed shows how horrible this thing can go. That's plain unprofessional and just plain ridiculous of these guys. I really can't believe they went ahead and did this – they should definitely get their heads checked or something!
  • العاب بنات · 1 year ago
  • she · 1 year ago
    programs fourms thank u
    http//www.shehap.com
    http//www.shehap.com/vb
  • Chris · 1 year ago
    People should be more careful giving away their mail-addresses - there is no chance to control that big big circle in the internet...
  • FGFGF · 1 year ago
  • rs · 1 year ago
    quechup sucks
  • يوتيوب · 8 months ago
    The same thing happened to me when I signed up for StumbleUpon. I was mortified.
    http://www.f1f7.net/vb/
  • منتديات · 7 months ago
    thanks
  • منتديات · 7 months ago
    thanks
  • منتديات · 6 months ago
    [...] Are You Getting Quechup Spammed? Quechup Just Spammed my Address Book [...]
    http://topics.2sw2r.com
    http://www.2sw2r.com/vb
  • جواهر اللغة · 5 months ago
    thank you
    i guss i am not getting any of that

    http://www.jaawaher.com/vb/index.php
  • سكس · 4 months ago